Your eyes

The stress, the tension, the letting off steam.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The joke, sarcasm, mock anger.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The umpteenth time when I invited cancer.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The party when I dared my liver.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The time I knew, you knew, I knew.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The time you knew, I knew, you knew.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment you waited for me to speak.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment that was so close, yet so far.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment they bestowed you with flowers and chocolates.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment I didn’t even say a word.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment you blew an air kiss.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment you left an un-replied note for me.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment I knew, time was running out.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The moment I saw you walk down alone.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The solitary tear that said it all.
Your eyes were looking at me.

The time has passed, more time will pass.
Your eyes still haunt me.

You haven’t moved on. I pretend I have.
Your eyes now look for me.

Sometimes I dream about your eyes.
They look at me.. I look away…

Varun Rajagopalan

