53102

One missed call

“Can you parcel me a chicken burger, please?”
“Sure, sir. Would you like extra cheese?”
“No. Just a regular chicken burger.”
“Would that be grilled or fried, sir?”
“What does your regular chicken burger come like?”
“We have many varieties, Sir. If you look to your…”
“Look. Don’t make me kill you alright?”
“Pardon me, sir?”
“You are testing my patience. Dammit! One sec.”

“Haah! Missed call. I hate…”
SILENCE>> DIALING
“Hello. Yes, my darling. You called?”
“Daddy…”
“Yes, my angel. It’s me.”
“Daddy. Some people said you killed Mom.”
“Who? Who said that, baby?”
“The neighbours. Daddy I… I’m scared.”
“Don’t be scared baby. Daddy’s here to protect you.”
“That’s not it. I… I’m scared of you.”

“Sir. Can you move aside? There are people waiting in line.”
“SON OF A …”

TWACK! THUNG! CRACK! SPLASH!

Varun Rajagopalan.

