empathise

I empathise

I empathise with my friends.
For what they have gone through.
I empathise with my enemies.
For no matter what, they cannot win.
I empathise with my family.
For I wish I could provide the way I dream.

I empathise with those who hurt me.
For I can take it.
I empathise with those who I’ve hurt.
Must have hurt bad, huh?

I empathise with those I speak to.
For there’s a lot their ears have to listen to.
I empathise with those I don’t speak to.
For there’s a lot they would love to know.

I empathise with the world.
For it’s in this irreversible self-destruct mode.
I empathise with God.
It’s a huge mantle that he wears.
I empathise with the Devil.
Must hurt to always be runners up.

I empathise with those I’ve loved.
For they don’t know what they lost.
I empathise with those who loved me.
For I realise what I’m losing.
I empathise with myself.
For I’m beyond feeling pitiful.

I empathise with you.
Whoever you are.

Varun Rajagopalan.

